Mindbridge

book-2017-02-01

★★

This was an ok, quick sci-fi novel, but it wasn’t enough to keep my attention. About half of it was interesting. I never understood why sci-fi movies and books never go that far into the future, like Back to the Future II went to 2015. Now the movie and its “future” is in the past. Finally a sci-fi book went really, really into the future. The last chapter is dated 2281. Unfortunately some of the science fiction in this book already exists, but it’s fun to see what an author from 1976 thought the future would be like.

The interesting parts have to do with the L’vrai and evolution. That’s all I can say.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    SF authors don’t go far into the future? I think that’s because you aren’t reading the right stuff! there are TONS of far future visions!

    Like

    1. Myk Little says:

      I agree. I must’ve read enough that didn’t go very far into the future. I couldn’t tell you want books I’m thinking of, but this made an impression on me. I was bored with just a 20 year jump.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joachim Boaz says:

        Here’s a good example — I wasn’t blown away by the book, BUT, as you can tell from the comments, other people love it.

        https://sciencefictionruminations.wordpress.com/2016/12/27/book-review-an-alien-heat-michael-moorcock-1972/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Myk Little says:

        Thanks! I’ll check it out. I love hearing about books and records that are new to me.

        Like

Leave a Reply

